01 Aug 2014 13:43
Drag the corners of the box above to crop your new profile photo.
Saving your new profile picture

20 DAYS TO GO...


Sydney Stars Head Coach Chris Malone has named his extended 43-man squad for the inaugural Buildcorp National Rugby Championship (NRC) set to begin on August 21....

Following a lengthy selection process with assistant coaches Peter Playford, Cam Blades and Director of Rugby, Jack Farrer, the extended squad comprises of a diverse range of players, including capped Wallabies and Super Rugby players, as well as local talent. This process is in line with the strategic direction of the Sydney Stars, which is to draw from our clubs and build a pathway from our Juniors through to the Wallabies.

With this brand new tier of rugby in Australia aiming to provide an additional pathway for players to reach higher representative levels, the squad includes a number of young up and coming players interspersed with some very well established rugby names.

Malone is pleased with the balance of the squad and the opportunity the Buildcorp NRC gives many of the Star players to grow and gain experience against some of the top rugby players in Australia.

“It’s an exciting time for rugby in Australia at the moment” said Malone. “The Buildcorp NRC brings with it the potential for significant growth in our great game throughout the nation and is a great opportunity for all our players.”

“I am certain that the players that have been selected in our squad for 2014 are capable of performing at the next level. Although we know it will be challenging, we have some extraordinary talent and we’re eager to show it to the nation”.

Announced earlier this week, the squad will be captained by current NSW Waratah Pat McCutcheon, whose impressive leadership experience and clear commitment to the new team will be crucial in bringing together this brand new team.

“It's a massive honour to be appointed captain of the Stars for the inaugural Buildcorp NRC” said McCutcheon. “I’m looking forward to working closely with the Chris Malone and the coaching staff to ensure we have a rewarding and memorable experience through the competition.”

The Sydney Stars extended squad for 2014:


Chapman, Jordan
Coolican, Thomas
Dessens, Hugo
Fainga'a, Folau
Hickey, David
Hodge, Byron
Kaveinga, Tipiloma
King, Alasdair
Latu, Silatolu
Philip, Matthew
McCutcheon, Patrick
Melrose, Benn
Quinn, Samuel
Robertson, Tomas
Ryan, Paddy
Sandell, Matthew
Skelton, William
Tilse, Jeremy
Tyler, Michael
Weeks, Laurie
Whiteley, Mitchell
Willan, James
Wilson, Ryan


Betham, Peter
Carter, Thomas
Clunies-Ross, Henry
Dargaville, James
Dunbar, Stuart
Fakai, Johnathan
Folau, Israel
Foley, Bernard
Gordon, Jake
Hodge, Michael
Kelly, Daniel
Kenny, Matthew
Loseli, Jonny
Makamaka, Finau
McMahon, James
Merriman, Jock
Phipps, Nick
Pulver, Angus
Roberts, Angus
Stewart, Jim
See More